Deewans Of Mysore

Progress of Mysore under the Dewans


The post of the Dewan was created as the head of the administrative machinery. The Wodeyars of Mysore were fortunate enough to have wise and able men as Dewans. These Dewans worked hard to make the state progressive progressive and model.





Dewans of Mysore

  • C. Rangacharlu (1881-1883)
  • Sheshadri Iyer (1883-1901)
  • P. N. Krishnamurthi (1901-1906)
  •  V. P. Madhav Rao (1906-1909)
  •  T. Anand Rao (1909-1912)
  • Sir M. Vishweshariah  (1912-1918)
  •  M. Kantaraj Ars (1918-1922)
  •  Sir A. R. Banerjee (1922-1926)
  • Sir Mirza Ismail (1926-1941)
  • N. Madhav Rao (1941-1946)
  • Sir Arkot Ramaswami Mudaliyar (1946-1947) (Last Dewan)


  • C. Rangacharlu (1881-1883)


  • Setting up of People Representative Assembly.
  •  Bangalore – Mysore Railway
  • 4000 acres of land was given to the white people for farming-later known as white field.


  • Sheshadri Iyer (1883-1901)





  • Wise and talented administrator.
  •  Achieved all round economic progress.
  • A graduate graduate of Madras University University.
  • Entered Mysore service as Judicial Shirastedar.
  • Later became the Deputy Commissioner.
  •  Appointed as Dewan – 1883 .
  • Improved the finances of the state.
  • Subsidy due from 1886 was waived for further 10 years.
  •  Bangalore-Gubbi, Harihar-Hindupur, Mysore-Nanjangud, Kolar Gold field, Birur-Shimoga Railway lines completed.
  • Mysore civil service exam to select able candidates.
  •  Shivanasamudra H ydro Electric Project : 1899 -1900.
  •  KGF received received electricity electricity – 1902.
  •  Bangalore became the first Indian city to have the electric facility -1905.
  •  Number of small projects were undertaken to improve agriculture.
  •  Widening the canals – Mari Halla Project.
  • Loans for digging the wells.
  •  Directorate of Agriculture and statistics formed.
  • Agriculture and industrial exhibition held at Mysore.
  • Agricultural Banks introduced.
  • Gold Mining Started at Kolar-1886.
  • Bangalore became the centre for textile trade.
  • Mysore spinning and manufacturing mill at Bangalore.
  • Estd. Geological Survey Dept.-1894
  • Improved the efficiency of admn.
  •  Introduced British postal service.
  •  Founded Archaeological Dept.
  • Mysore Infant Marriage Act – 1894.
  • Education reachable to all sections.
  • For female education started Empress Girls H.S., Tumkur Maharani Maharani Girls H.S., Mysore Balika Pathashala, Bangalore.
  •  Encouraged Technical,Professional & Higher Education.
  • Introduced Scholarship scheme.
  • Well known as Well known as “Rajya Durandhara”







  • Sir M. Vishweshariah (1912-1918)



  • Architect of modern Mysore.
  • An era of all round development
  • Became the Dewan in 1912.
  • Head of a technical dept. hold the highest office of Administration.
  • Born in 15 September 1861 at Muddenahalli.
  • Membership of the Legislative Council – increased from 18 to 24 increased from 18 to 24.
  • Mysore Local Boards and Village Panchayat Act – 1918.
  • Elected members majority in Taluka and District Boards.
  • Taluk and District Boards – constituted through elections.
  • Believed in Democracy
  • Council to discuss the budget.


Economic Advancement:


  •  Mysore -Arasikere Railway.
  • Bowringpet-Chikkaballapura via kolar.
  • Anxious to develop Bhatkal as Sea Port and connecting it by railway.
  • Malnad improvement committee.
  • Estd. State Bank of Mysore – 1913.
  •  Mysore Chamber of Commerce.
  •  Dept. of Sericulture – 1916 .
  • Mysore Dasara Exhibition.



  •  Slogan – “Industrialise or Perish ”.
  •  Aimed to make Mysore industrially advanced in India.
  •  Bhadravati – Iron works and Wood Distillation Plant.
  • Mysore – Sandalwood Factory.
  • Bangalore – Govt. Soap Factory, The Metal Factory, The Central Industrial Workshop, The Chrome & Tanning Factory.




  • KRS Dam at K annambadi.
  • Irrigation to 3 lakh acres of land in Mandya & Malavalli




  • Encouraged technical education.
  • Technical Institutions were opened
  • Chamarajendra Technical Institute Technical Institute of Mysore.
  • The Silk Research Center of Channapattana.
  • Govt. Engineering College at Bangalore.
  •  School of Agriculture at Hebbal – 1913 (Gandhi 1913 (Gandhi Krishi Vijnana Kendra – present Agri University).
  •  Mysore University in 1916, Ist Vice Chancellor – V. Nanjundaih.
  • Donation of 2 lacks to Banaras Hindu University.  
  • Estd. Kannada Sahitya Parishat at Bangalore – 1915.
  •  Public Libraries at Mysore & Bangalore.
  • Compulsory Primary Education.
  • Priority to Women Education.
  • Hostal for Harijans
  • Introduced Scholarship Scheme.
  • He wrote ‘Reconstructing India’, ‘Rapid Developments of Industries’, ‘Planned Economy for India’ and ‘Memories of My working life’
  • Govt of India awarded “Bharata Ratna” in 1955


  • Sir Mirza Ismail (1926-1941)



  • Most outstanding outstanding Dewan of Mysore.
  • Followed the foot steps of Sir. M.V.
  •  Maker of modern & model Mysore.
  •  Graduate of the Bangalore Central College.
  • Started various industries.
  •  Expanded Bhadravati Iron works added steel plant.
  •  Cement and Paper factory at Bhadravati .
  • Match factory  at Shimoga.
  • Khadi Unit (Kendra) at Badanval.
  •  Sugar factory at Mandya.
  • Chemicals and Fertiliser factory at Shravanabelagola.
  • Glass factory at Bangalore.
  •  Famous Hindusthan Aeronatics Ltd. at Bangalore.
  •  Agricultural equipment factory at Mysore, Bangalore and Hassan.
  • Krishnarajendra Electric Goods factory at Bangalore.
  •  Export of Sandal oil, Sandal Soap, Agarbathi and Mysore silk.
  • Mirza had a good aesthetic aesthetic sense.
  •  Beautification of Towns & Cities by creating Parks and gardens.
  •  Famous Brindavan Garden near KRS.
  • Mysore, Bangalore became garden cities.
  • Talks with Mahatma in 1927.
  • Persuaded Viceroy Irwin to reduce the annual tribute (34 lakhs to 24.5 lakhs).
  •  Attended the Round Table Conference in 1932.
  • Strengthening of Hydro Electric Projects.
  •  Capacity of the power station of Shivanasamudra was increased.
  •  Estd. the Shimsha Power Station – 1940.
  • The Sharavti Project near Jogfalls -1938 (it led to establish the Mahatma Gandhi H ydro Electric Station – 1948).
  • Rural Electrification started Ist time in India – 1940. * 180 villages electrified.
  • Built Kaveri high level Canal.
  •  1,20,000 acres of land under irrigation in Mandya.
  • Railway offices at Mysore.
  • Radio Station at Mysore.
  •  Craft Institute at Bangalore.
  • Mental Hospital at Bangalore.
  • Narasimharaja Hospital at Kolar.
  •  Mecgann Hospital at Shimoga.

Mirja Ismail was succeeded by Dewan N. Madhav Rao. Jayachamaraja Wodeyar was the last Maharaja of Mysore. He was the adopted son of KRW IV. The last Dewan of Mysore was Arcot Ramaswamy Mudaliyar. The post o f Dewan was abolished in 1949.

BPCS Notes brings Prelims and Mains programs for BPCS Prelims and BPCS Mains Exam preparation. Various Programs initiated by BPCS Notes are as follows:- For any doubt, Just leave us a Chat or Fill us a querry––

Hope we have satisfied your need for BPSC Prelims and Mains Preparation

Kindly review us to serve even better

BPSC Mains Test Series 2022

20 Quality mock tests and GS Mains Notes

Mains Test Series and Notes (With Evaluation and Skill Enhancement)

Mains Printed Notes (With COD)

Mains PDF Notes (Digital)

For Any Suggestion’s and Updates kindly Comments your doubts Here

Subscribe to BPSC Notes

Never Miss any BPSC important update!

Join 8,637 other subscribers

error: Content is protected !!