Administrative Setup and Administrative Culture in Rajasthan.

Within a state there is generally a four-tier structure of ad- ministration – division, district, taluka/tehsil/block, and village. The district has been so far the most important unit of administration. Some of the states have introduced the system of Panchayati Raj, generally a three-tier structure of local self- government in rural areas at the vil- lage, block and district levels. Two recent constitutional amendments have bestowed on the local bodies in rural and urban areas constitutional status and specific functions including education, covering education upto secondary level, technical training and vocational education, adult and non-formal education. These amendments will strengthen decentralised management of educa- tion at the grass-root level.



For the administrative ease rajasthan has been devided into following seven devisions:-


         Ajmer Division

2          Bharatpur Division

3          Bikaner Division

4          Jaipur Division

5          Jodhpur Division

6          Kota Division

7          Udaipur Division




Districts of Rajasthan







Citizen’s Charter is a document which represents a systematic effort to focus on the commitment of the Organisation towards its Citizens in respects of Standard of Services, Information, Choice and Consultation, Non-discrimination and Accessibility, Grievance Redress, Courtesy and Value for Money.

The main objective of the exercise to issue the Citizen’s Charter of an organisation is to improve the quality of public services. This is done by letting people know the mandate of the concerned Ministry/ Department/ Organisation, how one can get in touch with its officials, what to expect by way of services and how to seek a remedy if something goes wrong. The Citizen’s Charter does not by itself create new legal rights, but it surely helps in enforcing existing rights. This website provides the details of Citizen’s Charter of various Ministries/ Departments/ Organistions of the Government of India.

The basic objective of the Citizen’s Charter is to empower the citizen in relation to public service delivery. The six principles of the Citizen’s Charter movement as originally framed were:


(i) Quality: Improving the quality of services;


(ii) Choice: Wherever possible;


(iii) Standards: Specifying what to expect and how to act if standards are not met;


(iv) Value : For the taxpayers’ money;


(v) Accountability: Individuals and Organisations; and


(vi) Transparency: Rules/Procedures/Schemes/Grievances.


These were later elaborated by the Labour Government as the nine principles of Service Delivery (1998), which are as follows:-


  1. Set standards of service


  1. Be Open and provide full information


  1. Consult and involve


  1. Encourage access and the promotion of choice


  1. Treat all fairly


  1. Put things right when they go wrong


  1. Use resources effectively


  1. Innovate and improve


  1. Work with other providers

Government of Rajasthan(Administrative Reforms and Coordination Department, Jaipur, Rajasthan) manages the citizen charters in the state Following departments have issued there separate charters, which could be accessed from their websites.


  1. Registration and Stamps Department, Rajasthan, Ajmer


  1. Food and Civil Supplies Department, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Revenue Department


  1. Local Bodies


  1. Transport Department


  1. Medical & Health & Associate Hospitals


  1. SMS Medical College & Hospital, Jaipur


  1. Jawahar Lal Nehru Medical College, Ajmer


  1. Psychiatry Centre & Mental Hospital, Jaipur


  1. Sir Padampat Mother & Child Health Institute , Jaipur


  1. Chest & T.B. Hospital, Jaipur


  1. Mahila Chikitsalaya, Jaipur


  1. Zenana, Hospital, Jaipur


  1. Medical & Health Services (E.S.I) Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Police Department


  1. Rajasthan State Road Transport Corporation, Jaipur


  1. Labour Deprtment


  1. Factories & Boilers Department


  1. Land & Buildings Taxes Department


  1. Commercial Taxes Department


  1. Bureau of Anticorruption, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Command Area Development & Water Utilization Department


  1. Mines & Geology Department


  1. Literacy & Adult Education Department, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Irrigation Department, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Animal Husbandry Department


  1. Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd, Jaipur (Jaipur DISCOM)


  1. State Insurance & General Provident Fund Department


  1. Home Guard & Civil Aviation Department


  1. Colonization Department


  1. Jaipur Development Authority


  1. Women & Child Development Department


  1. Secondary Education Department


  1. Citizen’s Charter for Divisional Commissioners’ Office


  1. Higher Education, Jaipur


  1. Panchayati Raj Department


  1. Technical Education Department


  1. Public Works Department


  1. Agriculture Marketing Department


  1. Settlement Department


  1. Rural Development Department


  1. Directorate of Water Shed Development & Soil Conservation Department


  1. Fisheries Department


  1. Cooperative Department


  1. Employment Department


  1. Agriculture Marketing Board


  1. Public Health Engineering Department


  1. Rajasthan State Industrial Development & Investment Corporation Ltd., Jaipur


  1. Industries Department, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Rajasthan Finance Corporation (RFC)


  1. Small Savings Department


  1. Vidut Nirikshanalaya Rajasthan, Jaipur (Electrical Inspector, Rajasthan, Jaipur)


  1. Agriculture Department, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Forest Department


  1. Director, Elementary Education, Rajasthan, Bikaner


  1. Director, Prosecution, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Jail Department, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Tourism, Art and Culture Department, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Devasthan Department, Rajasthan, Udaipur


  1. Excise Department, Rajasthan, Udaipur


  1. Director, Horticulture Department, Rajasthan, Jaipur


  1. Town Planning Department, Jaipur (JLN Marg).



The Rajasthan Guaranteed Delivery of Public Services Act, 2011

The Rajasthan Guaranteed Delivery of Public Services Act, 2011 guarantees the delivery of 108 services in 53 areas concerning 15 departments. The time period kept for the delivery of services ranges from one day in the case of removal of animal carcasses from public places to two days for driving licences, 75 days for land use conversion and a maximum of 90 days for sanction of old age pension. Issue of birth/death certificates has been promised in 7-15 days and new ration card in seven days.


Right To Information

RTI stands for Right To Information and has been given the status of a fundamental right under Article 19(1) of the Constitution. Article 19 (1) under which every citizen has freedom of speech and expression and have the right to know how the government works, what role does it play, what are its functions and so on.

Right to Information Act empowers every citizen to seek any information, take notes, extracts or certified copies of documents or records, take certified samples of material.

BPCS Notes brings Prelims and Mains programs for BPCS Prelims and BPCS Mains Exam preparation. Various Programs initiated by BPCS Notes are as follows:- For any doubt, Just leave us a Chat or Fill us a querry––

Hope we have satisfied your need for BPSC Prelims and Mains Preparation

Kindly review us to serve even better

BPSC Mains Test Series 2022

20 Quality mock tests and GS Mains Notes

Mains Test Series and Notes (With Evaluation and Skill Enhancement)

Mains Printed Notes (With COD)

Mains PDF Notes (Digital)

For Any Suggestion’s and Updates kindly Comments your doubts Here

Subscribe to BPSC Notes

Never Miss any BPSC important update!

Join 8,599 other subscribers
error: Content is protected !!